kyper – tic tac toe/being nine

I liked this song when I was 9. My family lived in Florida then, near Ft Walton Beach.

Once I called up my favorite radio station and requested it, and the DJ asked me how old I was. I think that was the one of the first times I was ever aware of someone sounding incredulous. My shy/embarrassed kid voice answering “niii-iine” is still seared into my head. He played it, though.

“Son what you doin?” “Playin tic tac toe.”

I think that same year this girl Allison did a tap dance to Tone Loc’s Wild Thing in the school talent show. She was blonde and really skinny, and all she wore was a leotard and tap shoes with suntan tights. I think her shoes were high-heeled, too.

Leave a Reply

