more on dolls and religion

Hey, what’s Tammy Faye doing these days anyway?

Just to follow up my post on the Reverend Barbie, thanks to Madmonq’s comment about plastic evangelism and to Sittingpug’s melting face comment.

You’re welcome.

10 responses to “more on dolls and religion

  1. I am genuinely disturbed that I helped inspire this post. I guess I didn’t know what I was capable of. No no, you’re welcome.

  2. Oh, that’s riiight. I had forgotten. And so I guess this horrible picture I have posted of her was shortly before she died of the inoperable cancer. Uy.

    Thank you.

    Also, I like your blog! Just read both of your Erykah Badu posts— I’ve been listening to the new album quite a bit but hadn’t heard about the video (I live in Mexico). I was about to say I was more shocked by the shooting than by the nakedness, but then I realized that’s the point. Anyway, thanks for breaking it down.

      • Ahem. Although you just met me (and not even that), I am not obsessed with Tammy Faux. I am obsessed with the amazing level of cultural/literal/physical and spiritual trash generated by the American political right in the name of patriotism and faith. That said Tammy Fay had a cult like following in the drag queen thus the RuPaul narration.

        And continuing my apparently new tradition of apologizing for insulting someone on the internet let me say that it seems like she really was a nice person out of choice & not fear in the end.

      • Yeah, after reading that pop matters link I posted, I actually kind of feel bad for posting these pics of her.

        I used to have a tshirt with makeup splats on it that read, “I ran into Tammy Faye at the mall.” I gave it to my bff for his birthday a few years ago. That friend just happens to be gay– I didn’t actually realize TF was widely acclaimed in the community, just thought it was my friends who liked her. We’re from Jerry Falwell country, though, so I guess it’s understandable that we thought we were the only ones who allowed her camp value to outweigh her political affiliations.

  3. I am a 7th Day Adventist. But Carletta says I need to claim Southern Baptist now. What do you all think? Hit me up through my mistress on the side…www.blackplanet.com/brown-suga-33/

Leave a Reply

