more retardedly gringo appropriations of mexican ingredients

Check this out: I just topped a spinach, almond, carrot and pink grapefruit salad with chicharrones. That’s right, pork rinds, the real deal. It was like bacon bits and croutons all in one. Except way better.

I would have taken a picture, but I was too hungry.

I used worcestershire sauce as the dressing.

2 responses to “more retardedly gringo appropriations of mexican ingredients

  1. I love it! Except for the Worcestershire sauce, which is super Mexicano, but I’m not sure I could handle it on a salad. No salsa maggi?

    Totally putting chicharrones on my salad, next time I have a bag in the house.

  2. Yeah! I never appreciated Worcestershire before living in Mexico. It’s kind of crazy. It was nice on the salad for a little bit of lubrication and additional sweetness without any extra tang (since that is already present in the grapefruit).

    Thanks for commenting on its Mexican-ness, giving us the opportunity to recognize the many Mexican appropriations of this very British ingredient.

Leave a Reply

