wonder how racist this is

I have a new business associate/boss, and one of several reasons I am happy to be working with him is that he’s Caribbean. And I’m pretty sure that part of why I like his Caribbean-ness is that I miss black people.

This is one thing I have pretty consistently realized in the several years I have spent out of the US: for many estadounidenses, missing the US is very often related to missing one of the most unique and definitive elements of our national culture, which is Black American Culture. I really do miss it, all the time… in what ways does that mean it’s my culture, too? …It what ways does it not?

“Black culture is American culture,” for sure. I get that. Just want to explore it a little more.


“Your dog’s racist, Larry… You got a racist dog!”

Leave a Reply

