seasons

This happened when I lived in Ireland, too, another place with what I consider “perfect” weather all the time. The effect is sometimes like that of the pleasure box or using one of your three wishes to wish for eternal happiness. It gets old.

Not surprised that I really miss cold weather now. Not surprised that I really miss extreme heat. On the Emerald Isle it’s eternal spring and autumn (with all the rainfall that entails), and here in Mexico City it’s eternally May except in the autumn, aka rainy season, when it rains a lot.

In Ireland the way I ended up gauging the passage of time was the extreme changes in the lengths of days and nights. Being pretty far north, in the summer you get 11pm sunsets and 4am sunrises. In the winter you get 9am sunrise with 4pm sunset. Instead of a year passing, it felt like one  great big day turning into one big long night.

I have seen a few subtle changes here in Mexico City: the carpet of jacaranda petals all over the sidewalks in March; a drop in the price and rise in the quality of the mangos in May. I left the city by bus in July and saw that the area’s vegetation had gotten a lot greener than the last time I saw it, in April. Of course it rains for an hour or so every afternoon or evening now, whereas it didn’t from November to June, but when it’s not raining, we still get the beautiful crisp sunlight and cool air that we have throughout the rest of the year.

In other words, I’m finding it more difficult to detect seasonal change here. I see it in facebook as much as in any of the above details, with friends in New York and Virginia complaining about the heat, or about blizzards, or with my friend in Santiago posting pictures of snowy mountains.

I guess part of this is living in a city, too. I have to tune my sense of time more into socio-cultural stuff that is a byproduct of nature, rather than nature itself.

When the heavy rains of autumn pick up, we will also have Independence Day– this year is Mexico’s  bicentennial, the passage of 200 years– and then Día de los Muertos, where there will be lots of marigolds. So I can get my harvest on then I guess, with my annual reflection of how Halloween/death festivities coincide with the season of botanical shut-down and waning sunlight.

I guess I could start wearing theme sweaters?

Easter: rabbits and eggs as a form of resurrection.

Leave a Reply

