¿crees que soy sexy?

Here’s a Colombian cumbia cover, by Systema Solar, of Rod Stewart’s “Do You Think I’m Sexy?” I heard this last night in my local (a small mezcalería a couple blocks from my apartment).

I was talking to my roommate about the popularity of cumbia among gringo hipsters. She could see the appeal but noted we didn’t grow up hearing it at weddings like most Mexicans do, so we lack the cheeseball memories and associations with it that they have. When Rupture dj’ed cumbias here in DF last year, several of my Mexican friends were like, no, this isn’t what I was hoping for.

I realized I like specifically the genre of electronic cumbias, which this song is an example of.

Also I like that the noun cumbia is countable.

One response to “¿crees que soy sexy?

Leave a Reply

