rio tiber tweet

Whatever lapse I’ve had on this blog is probably more than compensated for by my recent microblogging activity. Microblog aka Twitter. I got a data plan for my mobile phone, so I’ve been Tweeting like mad. Or “twiteando” as they say en español. I can tweet from the street; it’s nice, like taking spontaneous notes, something I never had enough discipline to do when it was only on plain paper.

This is some street art by I guess someone named “Tuit Callejero” (“Street Tweet”). “Tweets” posted around the city complete with hashtag. It’s pretty meta.

The text roughly translates as “My favorite excuse is that I feel like it.” “Ganas” doesn’t really have a translation into English. You could say maybe “the urge,” but “ganas” is used way more commonly and lightly than “the urge” is… having ganas is like feeling like (doing something).

Obviously I photographed this and originally posted it on Twitter. This is on Rio Tiber in Colonia Cuauhtémoc, near la Nueva Cuba.

3 responses to “rio tiber tweet

  1. Me gusta! :D jajaja, en España esto no se ve… mm.. o no en mi ciudad, a ver si se pone de moda porque así podríamos ver lo que piensa la gente (que ya se ve en fb,twitter, myspace, …) pero escribirlo en la pared, es como más… no sé… no sabría decirte, pero es más bonito y a mí me llega más. Te escribo en castellano porque por lo que he visto, lo entiendes^^ y yo no hablo demasiado bien el inglés jejeje
    Y me gusta la frase ” mi pretexto favorito son las ganas”, tiene mucha razón.
    ¡cuídate!

  2. ¡Hola! Sí, me impresiona mucho el arte público que se puede ver en la Ciudad de México. Sé que es un poco complicado comentar sobre una cultura en general, pero según yo a los mexicanos les valen mucho la creatividad. Me parece que aquí ni importa en donde buscas, siempre hay algo, un letrero, un título, una selección de música, un dibujo, que una persona particular ha hecho que es un poco diferente que lo estándar. Me encanta.

    Y me gusta tu primer puesto en tu blog. Saludos :)

  3. Meta is so hot right now. This guy is really on to something.

    Can’t believe I didn’t know you were on tuiter until just now. Prepare to be listed, retweeted, mentioned and generally stalked…

Leave a Reply

