sic semper tyrannus

This is at the top of my list for potential next tattoo designs. As far as getting tattoos in languages I don’t speak, I don’t normally approve, but I guess dead languages from my own cultural heritage are okay. It’s a quote from Brutus, which he said after he helped kill Julius Caesar. “Thus always to tyrants.” Apparently that jerk John Wilkes Booth, who was incidentally a Marylander, shouted it after he shot Lincoln, too.

According to Wikipedia, Virginia is the only state with nudity on its seal. Yeah! The lady is meant to personify the concept of virtus. Also, that other thing Virtus is carrying that’s not a spear is a sheathed parazonium, which symbolizes authority.

This one is pretty cool, too. Thomas Jefferson, when colonial governor of VA, commissioned it and had it presented to Cherokee allies. I think maybe that’s why it’s in English: Cherokees probably didn’t really relate to Latin as well.

I’ve noticed over the last five years or so that state tattoos got pretty popular. I think it’s related to hipsters and the DIY and locovore movements, regional pride. I’m down anyway. I feel love for my state… Well, it’s actually a commonwealth.

2 responses to “sic semper tyrannus

  1. Pingback: example of my bipatriotism | ILL CAMINO REAL

  2. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on
    your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one these days.

Leave a Reply

