1990

I was hanging out with some film and TV industry people (actors, even), and they started talking about David Lynch. I mentioned that I had watched some of the series in its original airing… as a child! But it was too late, the actors– young folk, and Mexicans, so I guess American cult was less accessible until the internet– were already impressed.

I was really too young to understand what was going on, except that it was weird and cool and that I was allowed up past my bedtime. I watched the whole thing again a few years ago, and I have to say it was pretty good except for a lag in the second season. Speaks to how good network TV was back in the day, and unafraid. Roseanne also ruled. Everything has a heyday I guess. Now it’s AMC’s turn.

Of course I never had to revist the soundtrack. My parents got it on tape in 1990 and used to sit in the dark in the living room listening to it on summer evenings. Since then I haven’t stopped listening to it.

Leave a Reply

